Skip to content
Essex Counts — Essex, in numbers.Local help →

Epping Forest, in numbers

People and living standards: Epping Forest

Epping Forest local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Epping Forest local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 115,686 in 1991 to 138,394 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Epping Forest council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 118,737 people in 1996; 138,394 people in 2025. 16.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Epping Forest council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991115,686
1992116,850
1993116,878
1994117,526
1995118,120
1996118,737
1997118,885
1998119,100
1999120,181
2000120,540
2001120,972
2002121,482
2003121,404
2004121,495
2005121,735
2006122,530
2007122,877
2008123,365
2009123,820
2010124,189
2011124,880
2012126,599
2013128,068
2014130,040
2015130,848
2016131,587
2017132,376
2018133,373
2019134,206
2020134,569
2021134,941
2022134,985
2023136,224
2024137,184
2025138,394
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Epping Forest council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 22,759 people in 1996; 25,416 people in 2025. 11.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Epping Forest council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199121,030
199221,426
199321,668
199422,155
199522,441
199622,759
199723,038
199823,321
199923,624
200023,830
200123,784
200223,945
200323,853
200423,759
200523,817
200623,583
200723,356
200823,214
200923,017
201022,915
201122,958
201223,358
201323,664
201423,890
201524,112
201624,296
201724,608
201824,844
201925,013
202025,047
202124,943
202225,074
202325,294
202425,345
202525,416
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Epping Forest council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 75,722 people in 1996; 84,733 people in 2025. 11.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Epping Forest council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199175,207
199275,748
199375,328
199475,452
199575,571
199675,722
199775,582
199875,476
199976,199
200076,372
200176,771
200277,027
200377,003
200476,947
200577,155
200678,166
200778,570
200878,831
200979,061
201078,952
201179,108
201279,427
201379,907
201481,132
201581,441
201681,863
201782,147
201882,638
201983,067
202083,387
202183,628
202283,002
202383,657
202484,058
202584,733
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Epping Forest council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 20,256 people in 1996; 28,245 people in 2025. 39.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Epping Forest council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199119,449
199219,676
199319,882
199419,919
199520,108
199620,256
199720,265
199820,303
199920,358
200020,338
200120,417
200220,510
200320,548
200420,789
200520,763
200620,781
200720,951
200821,320
200921,742
201022,322
201122,814
201223,814
201324,497
201425,018
201525,295
201625,428
201725,621
201825,891
201926,126
202026,135
202126,370
202226,909
202327,273
202427,781
202528,245
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 134,980 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Epping Forest · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh9,6787.2%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African3,9322.9%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups4,8963.6%
White113,46984.1%
Other ethnic group3,0052.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 124,659 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Epping Forest · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White112,86990.5%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups2,6492.1%
Asian/Asian British5,9224.8%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British2,4041.9%
Other ethnic group8150.7%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 120,896 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Epping Forest · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White114,96795.1%
Mixed1,2491%
Asian/Asian British2,9362.4%
Black/Black British9940.8%
Chinese/Other7500.6%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 40.3% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Epping Forest council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £14,917 per person in 1997; £36,421 per person in 2024. 144.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Epping Forest council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199714,917
199815,268
199915,824
200016,651
200117,132
200217,298
200317,616
200418,342
200519,311
200619,852
200720,825
200821,660
200921,511
201021,572
201121,815
201222,524
201323,144
201423,697
201526,470
201626,618
201728,389
201830,121
201930,297
202029,092
202132,729
202232,797
202333,924
202436,421
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Epping Forest council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 40.6% in 1997; 40.3% in 2024. 0.3 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Epping Forest council area: full reviewed history
Period%
199740.6
199841
199939.9
200039.9
200138.5
200236.7
200335.1
200435.1
200537.4
200635.6
200735.7
200837.5
200934.3
201033.6
201133.9
201233.4
201332.1
201431
201539.1
201638.2
201744.1
201847.6
201943.8
202038.6
202149.8
202242.8
202338.7
202440.3
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

59.9%

21 March 2021 · Epping Forest local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

15.7%

21 March 2021 · Epping Forest local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

18.9%

21 March 2021 · Epping Forest local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

4.1%

21 March 2021 · Epping Forest local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£526,000

July 2026 · Epping Forest local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,844

August 2026 · Epping Forest local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.