Skip to content
Essex Counts — Essex, in numbers.Local help →

Brentwood, in numbers

People and living standards: Brentwood

Brentwood local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Brentwood local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 70,668 in 1991 to 80,104 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Brentwood council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 69,916 people in 1996; 80,104 people in 2025. 14.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Brentwood council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199170,668
199270,624
199370,577
199470,676
199570,334
199669,916
199769,536
199868,894
199968,702
200068,612
200168,483
200268,779
200369,234
200469,895
200570,542
200671,040
200771,346
200871,941
200972,663
201073,301
201173,841
201274,255
201374,912
201476,193
201576,690
201677,163
201776,950
201876,854
201977,231
202077,339
202177,111
202277,278
202378,250
202478,959
202580,104
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Brentwood council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 13,048 people in 1996; 15,109 people in 2025. 15.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Brentwood council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199112,846
199212,934
199312,960
199413,035
199513,076
199613,048
199713,036
199812,934
199913,107
200013,022
200113,081
200213,239
200313,388
200413,549
200513,608
200613,689
200713,654
200813,631
200913,686
201013,582
201113,486
201213,473
201313,490
201413,614
201513,809
201614,001
201714,000
201814,050
201914,095
202014,108
202114,147
202214,486
202314,811
202414,920
202515,109
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Brentwood council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 44,886 people in 1996; 48,730 people in 2025. 8.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Brentwood council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199146,426
199246,216
199346,061
199445,902
199545,391
199644,886
199744,408
199843,792
199943,266
200043,126
200142,756
200242,770
200342,917
200443,364
200543,882
200644,251
200744,559
200844,987
200945,395
201045,820
201146,196
201246,074
201346,354
201447,327
201547,490
201647,616
201747,434
201847,315
201947,496
202047,640
202147,391
202247,039
202347,561
202448,038
202548,730
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Brentwood council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 11,982 people in 1996; 16,265 people in 2025. 35.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Brentwood council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199111,396
199211,474
199311,556
199411,739
199511,867
199611,982
199712,092
199812,168
199912,329
200012,464
200112,646
200212,770
200312,929
200412,982
200513,052
200613,100
200713,133
200813,323
200913,582
201013,899
201114,159
201214,708
201315,068
201415,252
201515,391
201615,546
201715,516
201815,489
201915,640
202015,591
202115,573
202215,753
202315,878
202416,001
202516,265
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 77,048 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Brentwood · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh3,9135.1%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African1,7472.3%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups2,3683.1%
White68,19488.5%
Other ethnic group8261.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 73,601 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Brentwood · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White68,86893.6%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups1,1961.6%
Asian/Asian British2,3503.2%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British8961.2%
Other ethnic group2910.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 68,456 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Brentwood · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White66,01196.4%
Mixed6741%
Asian/Asian British9551.4%
Black/Black British3710.5%
Chinese/Other4450.7%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 48.1% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Brentwood council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £16,510 per person in 1997; £38,454 per person in 2024. 132.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Brentwood council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199716,510
199816,633
199917,566
200018,533
200119,172
200219,352
200319,688
200420,281
200520,989
200621,444
200722,318
200823,190
200923,164
201022,908
201122,834
201223,542
201324,429
201424,912
201526,439
201627,558
201728,479
201829,937
201929,972
202029,302
202130,782
202231,883
202335,548
202438,454
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Brentwood council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 55.6% in 1997; 48.1% in 2024. 7.5 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Brentwood council area: full reviewed history
Period%
199755.6
199853.6
199955.3
200055.7
200155
200253
200351
200449.4
200549.3
200646.4
200745.4
200847.3
200944.7
201041.8
201140.1
201239.4
201339.5
201437.8
201539
201643.1
201744.6
201846.7
201942.2
202039.6
202140.9
202238.8
202345.4
202448.1
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

60.3%

21 March 2021 · Brentwood local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

13.1%

21 March 2021 · Brentwood local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

15.1%

21 March 2021 · Brentwood local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

3.8%

21 March 2021 · Brentwood local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£514,000

July 2026 · Brentwood local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,620

August 2026 · Brentwood local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.