Skip to content
Essex Counts — Essex, in numbers.Local help →

Basildon, in numbers

People and living standards: Basildon

Basildon local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Basildon local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 161,885 in 1991 to 193,489 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Basildon council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 161,412 people in 1996; 193,489 people in 2025. 19.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Basildon council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991161,885
1992160,826
1993160,524
1994160,691
1995161,105
1996161,412
1997162,280
1998162,343
1999164,185
2000164,936
2001165,895
2002166,743
2003167,089
2004167,825
2005168,927
2006169,951
2007170,908
2008172,423
2009173,084
2010173,788
2011174,971
2012176,622
2013178,944
2014181,317
2015182,734
2016184,651
2017185,299
2018186,668
2019187,714
2020187,796
2021187,718
2022188,708
2023190,777
2024192,810
2025193,489
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Basildon council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 35,592 people in 1996; 40,155 people in 2025. 12.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Basildon council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199135,883
199235,572
199335,527
199435,685
199535,702
199635,592
199735,452
199835,254
199935,535
200035,480
200135,352
200235,506
200335,506
200435,377
200535,271
200635,223
200735,197
200835,400
200935,369
201035,359
201135,365
201235,624
201336,181
201436,486
201536,747
201637,379
201737,745
201838,184
201938,775
202038,967
202138,994
202239,316
202339,850
202440,237
202540,155
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Basildon council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 102,812 people in 1996; 119,892 people in 2025. 16.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Basildon council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991105,237
1992104,161
1993103,476
1994103,001
1995102,905
1996102,812
1997103,383
1998103,189
1999104,755
2000105,403
2001106,045
2002106,366
2003106,489
2004107,165
2005108,117
2006109,044
2007109,746
2008110,528
2009110,718
2010110,918
2011111,412
2012111,677
2013112,654
2014114,065
2015114,920
2016115,857
2017115,962
2018116,743
2019116,919
2020116,841
2021116,730
2022117,141
2023118,376
2024119,427
2025119,892
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Basildon council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 23,008 people in 1996; 33,442 people in 2025. 45.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Basildon council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199120,765
199221,093
199321,521
199422,005
199522,498
199623,008
199723,445
199823,900
199923,895
200024,053
200124,498
200224,871
200325,094
200425,283
200525,539
200625,684
200725,965
200826,495
200926,997
201027,511
201128,194
201229,321
201330,109
201430,766
201531,067
201631,415
201731,592
201831,741
201932,020
202031,988
202131,994
202232,251
202332,551
202433,146
202533,442
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 187,567 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Basildon · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh7,9954.3%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African8,9134.8%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups4,9382.6%
White164,11687.5%
Other ethnic group1,6050.9%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 174,497 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Basildon · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White161,67792.7%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups2,8871.7%
Asian/Asian British4,7662.7%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British4,6852.7%
Other ethnic group4820.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 165,668 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Basildon · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White160,52296.9%
Mixed1,5220.9%
Asian/Asian British1,7171%
Black/Black British1,1030.7%
Chinese/Other8040.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 3.6% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Basildon council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £11,046 per person in 1997; £25,031 per person in 2024. 126.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Basildon council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199711,046
199811,203
199911,883
200012,256
200112,938
200213,292
200313,618
200414,104
200514,533
200614,896
200715,371
200815,834
200916,440
201016,354
201116,395
201216,910
201316,935
201417,277
201518,043
201618,623
201719,138
201819,929
201920,677
202020,770
202121,502
202222,520
202323,692
202425,031
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Basildon council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 4.1% in 1997; -3.6% in 2024. 7.7 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Basildon council area: full reviewed history
Period%
19974.1
19983.5
19995
20003
20014.6
20025.1
20034.5
20043.9
20053.4
20061.7
20070.2
20080.5
20092.7
20101.3
20110.6
20120.1
2013-3.3
2014-4.5
2015-5.2
2016-3.3
2017-2.9
2018-2.4
2019-1.9
2020-1
2021-1.6
2022-1.9
2023-3.1
2024-3.6
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

59.9%

21 March 2021 · Basildon local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

19.5%

21 March 2021 · Basildon local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

20.7%

21 March 2021 · Basildon local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

5%

21 March 2021 · Basildon local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£367,000

July 2026 · Basildon local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,424

August 2026 · Basildon local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.