Skip to content
Essex Counts — Essex, in numbers.Local help →

Tendring, in numbers

Projects: Tendring

Tendring local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

The local plans, investments and decisions worth following.

5 selected records checked against official sources. A plan is not a completed project; each record shows the stage its source establishes.

Clacton Hospital

Clacton Hospital urgent treatment centre

A new facility for urgent, non-life-threatening illnesses and injuries is operating after the hospital redevelopment.

Open by August 2026 · evidence dated 2026-08-24

Responsible body: East Suffolk and North Essex NHS Foundation Trust, with Tendring District Council funding

What the source says: The council helped fund the project. Shorter waits are an intended benefit, not a measured result in this release.

Next thing to establish: What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Named scheme or programme area only. No official impact boundary has been matched to current wards; a nearby location is not evidence that a whole ward benefits.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Clacton Hospital urgent treatment centre opening →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Make the opened urgent-care facility easy to use →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

Jaywick Sands

Jaywick Healthy Buildings

A programme supports work on longstanding dangerous and vacant buildings.

Published programme; individual completed cases unverified · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Tendring District Council

What the source says: The page describes scope, not a count of repaired homes or evidence all hazards have been removed.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Named scheme or programme area only. No official impact boundary has been matched to current wards; a nearby location is not evidence that a whole ward benefits.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Jaywick Healthy Buildings programme →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Follow unsafe-building work through to safer homes →

Make room for homes people can afford →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

Jaywick Sands

Jaywick Sands open spaces

Design and community input cover open spaces, a flood memorial garden and the Dig4Jaywick community garden.

Design and engagement programme; completion unverified · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Tendring District Council

What the source says: Planned improvements are not evidence of completed landscaping, flood protection or wider health effects.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Named scheme or programme area only. No official impact boundary has been matched to current wards; a nearby location is not evidence that a whole ward benefits.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Jaywick Sands open-spaces programme →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Connect Jaywick’s public spaces with everyday needs →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

Kingsway and central Dovercourt

Dovercourt public-space improvements

Paving works have progressed along Kingsway, with works shifting to the western side and further station and library spaces planned.

Construction underway; winter completion forecast · evidence dated 2026-10-07

Responsible body: Essex County Council and Tendring District Council with M Group

What the source says: The update confirms disruption and partial progress, not full completion. The programme is delivered with Essex County Council and its highways contractor.

Next thing to establish: What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Named scheme or programme area only. No official impact boundary has been matched to current wards; a nearby location is not evidence that a whole ward benefits.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Dovercourt October construction update →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Keep Dovercourt accessible while work continues →

Connect local skills to local opportunities →

How to track delivery →

20 Victoria Street, Dovercourt

Victoria Street social homes

Eight social-rent apartments have permission on a cleared site, with parking across the road.

Permission received; demolition completed April 2026 · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Tendring District Council

What the source says: Demolition and permission do not establish completed or occupied homes.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Named scheme or programme area only. No official impact boundary has been matched to current wards; a nearby location is not evidence that a whole ward benefits.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Victoria Street social-housing project →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Make room for homes people can afford →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →