Skip to content
Essex Counts — Essex, in numbers.Local help →

Rochford, in numbers

People and living standards: Rochford

Rochford local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Rochford local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 75,512 in 1991 to 90,760 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Rochford council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 75,843 people in 1996; 90,760 people in 2025. 19.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Rochford council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199175,512
199275,591
199375,573
199475,396
199575,621
199675,843
199776,067
199876,477
199977,395
200078,233
200178,650
200279,325
200379,513
200480,100
200580,815
200681,490
200782,264
200883,056
200983,094
201083,415
201183,333
201283,582
201383,372
201484,111
201584,291
201684,568
201784,672
201885,129
201985,290
202085,213
202186,181
202287,204
202388,405
202489,521
202590,760
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Rochford council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 15,000 people in 1996; 16,083 people in 2025. 7.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Rochford council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199115,263
199215,235
199315,153
199415,109
199515,083
199615,000
199714,951
199814,993
199915,304
200015,502
200115,557
200215,579
200315,500
200415,500
200515,462
200615,468
200715,414
200815,294
200915,228
201015,159
201114,928
201214,843
201314,669
201414,521
201514,525
201614,450
201714,454
201814,638
201914,725
202014,696
202115,079
202215,355
202315,722
202415,901
202516,083
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Rochford council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 48,109 people in 1996; 53,415 people in 2025. 11% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Rochford council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199148,367
199248,329
199348,176
199447,930
199547,994
199648,109
199748,119
199848,223
199948,763
200049,228
200149,313
200249,695
200349,728
200449,999
200550,476
200651,000
200751,580
200852,098
200951,862
201051,838
201151,546
201251,006
201350,378
201450,738
201550,553
201650,699
201750,646
201850,736
201950,594
202050,559
202150,946
202251,457
202352,150
202452,814
202553,415
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Rochford council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 12,734 people in 1996; 21,262 people in 2025. 67% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Rochford council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199111,882
199212,027
199312,244
199412,357
199512,544
199612,734
199712,997
199813,261
199913,328
200013,503
200113,780
200214,051
200314,285
200414,601
200514,877
200615,022
200715,270
200815,664
200916,004
201016,418
201116,859
201217,733
201318,325
201418,852
201519,213
201619,419
201719,572
201819,755
201919,971
202019,958
202120,156
202220,392
202320,533
202420,806
202521,262
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 85,662 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Rochford · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh1,1851.4%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African6330.7%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups1,4321.7%
White82,11695.9%
Other ethnic group2960.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 83,287 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Rochford · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White80,93797.2%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups9051.1%
Asian/Asian British8811.1%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British4330.5%
Other ethnic group1310.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 78,489 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Rochford · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White77,16598.3%
Mixed4650.6%
Asian/Asian British3950.5%
Black/Black British1760.2%
Chinese/Other2880.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 4.3% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Rochford council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £12,503 per person in 1997; £27,085 per person in 2024. 116.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Rochford council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199712,503
199812,439
199912,967
200013,430
200114,074
200214,305
200314,654
200415,093
200515,597
200615,898
200716,474
200816,926
200917,315
201017,396
201117,481
201217,965
201318,426
201418,931
201520,089
201620,637
201721,334
201822,270
201922,783
202022,550
202123,104
202224,440
202325,663
202427,085
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Rochford council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 17.8% in 1997; 4.3% in 2024. 13.5 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Rochford council area: full reviewed history
Period%
199717.8
199814.9
199914.6
200012.8
200113.8
200213.1
200312.4
200411.2
200510.9
20068.6
20077.4
20087.5
20098.1
20107.7
20117.3
20126.4
20135.2
20144.7
20155.6
20167.2
20178.3
20189.1
20198.1
20207.4
20215.8
20226.4
20235
20244.3
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

57.5%

21 March 2021 · Rochford local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

15.7%

21 March 2021 · Rochford local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

19.2%

21 March 2021 · Rochford local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

4.2%

21 March 2021 · Rochford local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£413,000

July 2026 · Rochford local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,300

August 2026 · Rochford local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.