Skip to content
Essex Counts — Essex, in numbers.Local help →

Harlow, in numbers

People and living standards: Harlow

Harlow local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Harlow local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 75,008 in 1991 to 98,543 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Harlow council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 74,190 people in 1996; 98,543 people in 2025. 32.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Harlow council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199175,008
199274,415
199373,588
199473,484
199573,610
199674,190
199775,342
199876,980
199977,555
200078,336
200178,799
200278,340
200378,128
200478,019
200578,354
200678,722
200779,165
200879,913
200980,710
201081,490
201182,177
201283,478
201384,743
201486,531
201587,797
201688,913
201789,824
201890,695
201991,952
202092,415
202193,428
202294,556
202396,341
202498,130
202598,543
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Harlow council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 16,132 people in 1996; 21,314 people in 2025. 32.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Harlow council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199116,269
199216,203
199316,142
199416,165
199516,132
199616,132
199716,262
199816,487
199916,795
200016,865
200116,895
200216,635
200316,445
200416,278
200516,213
200616,192
200716,167
200816,454
200916,714
201016,867
201117,000
201217,373
201317,841
201418,297
201518,688
201618,974
201719,334
201819,583
201919,936
202020,034
202120,240
202220,665
202321,184
202421,524
202521,314
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Harlow council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 47,153 people in 1996; 62,739 people in 2025. 33.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Harlow council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199149,176
199248,385
199347,411
199447,039
199546,903
199647,153
199747,928
199848,998
199949,246
200049,896
200150,338
200250,023
200349,960
200449,992
200550,341
200650,747
200751,212
200851,551
200951,950
201052,427
201152,824
201253,499
201354,010
201455,244
201556,028
201656,800
201757,295
201857,840
201958,593
202058,909
202159,453
202260,079
202361,186
202462,452
202562,739
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Harlow council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 10,905 people in 1996; 14,490 people in 2025. 32.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Harlow council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
19919,563
19929,827
199310,035
199410,280
199510,575
199610,905
199711,152
199811,495
199911,514
200011,575
200111,566
200211,682
200311,723
200411,749
200511,800
200611,783
200711,786
200811,908
200912,046
201012,196
201112,353
201212,606
201312,892
201412,990
201513,081
201613,139
201713,195
201813,272
201913,423
202013,472
202113,735
202213,812
202313,971
202414,154
202514,490
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 93,330 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Harlow · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh5,5556%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African5,8276.2%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups3,0483.3%
White77,21482.7%
Other ethnic group1,6861.8%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 81,944 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Harlow · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White72,99989.1%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups1,7522.1%
Asian/Asian British3,7334.6%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British3,0903.8%
Other ethnic group3700.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 78,768 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Harlow · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White74,74494.9%
Mixed9671.2%
Asian/Asian British1,2591.6%
Black/Black British7841%
Chinese/Other1,0141.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 13.9% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Harlow council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £8,399 per person in 1997; £22,350 per person in 2024. 166.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Harlow council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19978,399
19988,360
19998,970
20009,122
20019,717
200210,103
200310,333
200410,775
200511,120
200611,425
200711,685
200812,157
200913,023
201012,875
201113,220
201213,666
201313,740
201414,046
201514,934
201615,484
201716,635
201817,332
201918,126
202018,466
202118,408
202219,666
202321,139
202422,350
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Harlow council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -20.8% in 1997; -13.9% in 2024. 6.9 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Harlow council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-20.8
1998-22.8
1999-20.7
2000-23.4
2001-21.5
2002-20.1
2003-20.7
2004-20.6
2005-20.9
2006-22
2007-23.9
2008-22.8
2009-18.7
2010-20.3
2011-18.9
2012-19.1
2013-21.6
2014-22.3
2015-21.5
2016-19.6
2017-15.6
2018-15.1
2019-14
2020-12
2021-15.7
2022-14.4
2023-13.5
2024-13.9
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

62.9%

21 March 2021 · Harlow local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

21.7%

21 March 2021 · Harlow local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

21%

21 March 2021 · Harlow local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

5.1%

21 March 2021 · Harlow local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£320,000

July 2026 · Harlow local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,521

August 2026 · Harlow local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.