Skip to content
Essex Counts — Essex, in numbers.Local help →

Castle Point, in numbers

People and living standards: Castle Point

Castle Point local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Castle Point local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 86,890 in 1991 to 90,613 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Castle Point council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 85,718 people in 1996; 90,613 people in 2025. 5.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Castle Point council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199186,890
199286,651
199386,309
199486,374
199586,049
199685,718
199785,498
199885,554
199986,069
200086,416
200186,673
200286,866
200387,237
200487,207
200587,462
200687,576
200787,776
200888,020
200988,122
201088,115
201187,964
201288,119
201388,377
201488,654
201588,854
201689,390
201789,275
201889,341
201989,619
202089,782
202189,712
202289,630
202389,818
202490,121
202590,613
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Castle Point council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 16,663 people in 1996; 15,582 people in 2025. 6.5% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Castle Point council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199117,758
199217,543
199317,367
199417,221
199516,972
199616,663
199716,472
199816,394
199916,800
200016,791
200116,689
200216,502
200316,446
200416,350
200516,197
200616,024
200715,788
200815,513
200915,359
201015,044
201114,804
201214,703
201314,625
201414,580
201514,617
201614,728
201714,734
201814,958
201915,162
202015,203
202115,202
202215,311
202315,398
202415,486
202515,582
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Castle Point council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 55,504 people in 1996; 51,529 people in 2025. 7.2% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Castle Point council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199156,864
199256,598
199356,179
199456,130
199555,761
199655,504
199755,294
199855,174
199954,973
200055,130
200155,148
200255,140
200355,213
200454,963
200554,983
200654,915
200754,912
200854,919
200954,652
201054,376
201153,903
201253,153
201352,771
201452,615
201552,393
201652,543
201752,246
201851,905
201951,845
202051,839
202151,872
202251,426
202351,305
202451,258
202551,529
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Castle Point council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 13,551 people in 1996; 23,502 people in 2025. 73.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Castle Point council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199112,268
199212,510
199312,763
199413,023
199513,316
199613,551
199713,732
199813,986
199914,296
200014,495
200114,836
200215,224
200315,578
200415,894
200516,282
200616,637
200717,076
200817,588
200918,111
201018,695
201119,257
201220,263
201320,981
201421,459
201521,844
201622,119
201722,295
201822,478
201922,612
202022,740
202122,638
202222,893
202323,115
202423,377
202523,502
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 89,582 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Castle Point · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh1,5501.7%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African1,1791.3%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups1,4461.6%
White84,98194.9%
Other ethnic group4260.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 88,011 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Castle Point · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White85,27396.9%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups9111%
Asian/Asian British1,0121.1%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British6610.8%
Other ethnic group1540.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 86,608 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Castle Point · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White85,01898.2%
Mixed5060.6%
Asian/Asian British6270.7%
Black/Black British1710.2%
Chinese/Other2860.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 2.8% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Castle Point council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £10,470 per person in 1997; £26,682 per person in 2024. 154.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Castle Point council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199710,470
199810,573
199911,259
200011,631
200112,283
200212,656
200312,984
200413,426
200513,926
200614,335
200714,885
200815,479
200916,167
201016,309
201116,503
201217,031
201317,341
201417,910
201518,896
201619,400
201720,116
201821,222
201921,715
202021,468
202122,280
202223,543
202325,100
202426,682
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Castle Point council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -1.3% in 1997; 2.8% in 2024. 4.1 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Castle Point council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-1.3
1998-2.4
1999-0.5
2000-2.3
2001-0.7
20020
2003-0.4
2004-1.1
2005-0.9
2006-2.1
2007-3
2008-1.7
20091
20101
20111.3
20120.8
2013-1
2014-1
2015-0.7
20160.7
20172.1
20184
20193.1
20202.3
20212
20222.5
20232.7
20242.8
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

55.1%

21 March 2021 · Castle Point local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

19.4%

21 March 2021 · Castle Point local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

23.9%

21 March 2021 · Castle Point local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

5.5%

21 March 2021 · Castle Point local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£357,000

July 2026 · Castle Point local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,262

August 2026 · Castle Point local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.