Skip to content
Essex Counts — Essex, in numbers.Local help →

Braintree, in numbers

People and living standards: Braintree

Braintree local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Braintree local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 119,497 in 1991 to 166,471 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Braintree council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 123,982 people in 1996; 166,471 people in 2025. 34.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Braintree council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991119,497
1992120,509
1993120,808
1994122,225
1995123,258
1996123,982
1997125,173
1998126,986
1999128,993
2000131,203
2001132,482
2002134,272
2003135,767
2004137,426
2005139,160
2006140,921
2007142,344
2008143,894
2009144,589
2010145,972
2011147,514
2012148,443
2013149,285
2014150,314
2015150,908
2016151,848
2017152,422
2018152,353
2019153,439
2020154,107
2021155,693
2022157,495
2023160,135
2024163,745
2025166,471
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Braintree council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 25,944 people in 1996; 30,034 people in 2025. 15.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Braintree council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199125,421
199225,676
199325,781
199426,049
199526,038
199625,944
199726,030
199826,201
199926,924
200027,431
200127,707
200227,933
200328,134
200428,251
200528,281
200628,374
200728,348
200828,431
200928,433
201028,654
201128,991
201228,913
201328,881
201428,758
201528,635
201628,703
201728,660
201828,636
201928,653
202028,562
202128,676
202229,026
202329,314
202429,795
202530,034
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Braintree council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 79,259 people in 1996; 101,297 people in 2025. 27.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Braintree council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199176,143
199276,716
199376,732
199477,743
199578,552
199679,259
199780,215
199881,706
199982,635
200084,101
200184,989
200286,258
200387,263
200488,456
200589,886
200691,242
200792,177
200893,051
200993,013
201093,414
201193,771
201293,377
201393,134
201493,295
201593,461
201693,538
201793,667
201893,150
201993,603
202093,963
202194,934
202295,804
202397,417
202499,656
2025101,297
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Braintree council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 18,779 people in 1996; 35,140 people in 2025. 87.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Braintree council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199117,933
199218,117
199318,295
199418,433
199518,668
199618,779
199718,928
199819,079
199919,434
200019,671
200119,786
200220,081
200320,370
200420,719
200520,993
200621,305
200721,819
200822,412
200923,143
201023,904
201124,752
201226,153
201327,270
201428,261
201528,812
201629,607
201730,095
201830,567
201931,183
202031,582
202132,083
202232,665
202333,404
202434,294
202535,140
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 155,265 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Braintree · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh2,5661.7%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African1,8891.2%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups3,0141.9%
White146,98194.7%
Other ethnic group8150.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 147,084 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Braintree · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White142,08796.6%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups1,8371.2%
Asian/Asian British1,9981.4%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British9130.6%
Other ethnic group2490.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 132,179 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Braintree · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White129,79798.2%
Mixed9560.7%
Asian/Asian British6580.5%
Black/Black British3790.3%
Chinese/Other3890.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 0.2% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Braintree council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £10,834 per person in 1997; £26,019 per person in 2024. 140.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Braintree council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199710,834
199810,975
199911,686
200012,119
200112,670
200213,032
200313,221
200413,704
200514,199
200614,498
200715,064
200815,622
200916,005
201015,951
201116,052
201216,590
201317,180
201417,810
201518,817
201619,217
201719,732
201820,627
201921,400
202021,285
202122,230
202223,245
202324,756
202426,019
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Braintree council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 2.1% in 1997; 0.2% in 2024. 1.9 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Braintree council area: full reviewed history
Period%
19972.1
19981.4
19993.3
20001.8
20012.4
20023
20031.4
20041
20051
2006-1
2007-1.8
2008-0.8
20090
2010-1.2
2011-1.5
2012-1.8
2013-1.9
2014-1.5
2015-1.1
2016-0.2
20170.2
20181.1
20191.6
20201.4
20211.8
20221.2
20231.2
20240.2
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

60.3%

21 March 2021 · Braintree local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

15.9%

21 March 2021 · Braintree local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

18.4%

21 March 2021 · Braintree local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

4.4%

21 March 2021 · Braintree local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£328,000

July 2026 · Braintree local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,213

August 2026 · Braintree local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.