Skip to content
Essex Counts — Essex, in numbers.Local help →

Uttlesford, in numbers

People and living standards: Uttlesford

Uttlesford local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Uttlesford local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 65,375 in 1991 to 96,762 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Uttlesford council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 67,457 people in 1996; 96,762 people in 2025. 43.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Uttlesford council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199165,375
199265,686
199366,053
199466,770
199567,422
199667,457
199767,551
199867,854
199968,226
200068,631
200168,969
200269,529
200370,278
200470,865
200571,580
200672,929
200774,232
200875,505
200976,778
201078,620
201180,032
201281,148
201382,364
201483,732
201584,622
201685,565
201786,511
201887,711
201989,361
202090,482
202191,921
202292,620
202393,869
202494,953
202596,762
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Uttlesford council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 13,929 people in 1996; 18,173 people in 2025. 30.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Uttlesford council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199113,394
199213,477
199313,549
199413,788
199513,958
199613,929
199713,913
199813,978
199914,092
200014,118
200114,110
200214,226
200314,427
200414,491
200514,507
200614,790
200715,139
200815,346
200915,563
201015,885
201116,060
201216,200
201316,519
201416,691
201516,826
201617,055
201717,137
201817,269
201917,562
202017,697
202117,793
202217,873
202317,969
202418,036
202518,173
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Uttlesford council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 43,635 people in 1996; 57,518 people in 2025. 31.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Uttlesford council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199142,728
199242,833
199343,036
199443,402
199543,701
199643,635
199743,622
199843,793
199943,846
200044,097
200144,301
200244,587
200344,894
200445,224
200545,600
200646,493
200747,237
200847,885
200948,494
201049,513
201150,258
201250,412
201350,623
201451,303
201551,642
201651,939
201752,479
201853,194
201954,021
202054,736
202155,506
202255,572
202356,221
202456,580
202557,518
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Uttlesford council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 9,893 people in 1996; 21,071 people in 2025. 113% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Uttlesford council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
19919,253
19929,376
19939,468
19949,580
19959,763
19969,893
199710,016
199810,083
199910,288
200010,416
200110,558
200210,716
200310,957
200411,150
200511,473
200611,646
200711,856
200812,274
200912,721
201013,222
201113,714
201214,536
201315,222
201415,738
201516,154
201616,571
201716,895
201817,248
201917,778
202018,049
202118,622
202219,175
202319,679
202420,337
202521,071
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 91,344 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Uttlesford · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh1,7221.9%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African7090.8%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups2,0162.2%
White86,29694.5%
Other ethnic group6010.7%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 79,443 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Uttlesford · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White76,76196.6%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups9771.2%
Asian/Asian British1,1221.4%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British4170.5%
Other ethnic group1660.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 68,946 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Uttlesford · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White67,68598.2%
Mixed4580.7%
Asian/Asian British3760.5%
Black/Black British1110.2%
Chinese/Other3160.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 29% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Uttlesford council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £15,322 per person in 1997; £33,494 per person in 2024. 118.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Uttlesford council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199715,322
199815,474
199916,244
200017,117
200117,673
200217,806
200317,904
200418,632
200519,401
200619,697
200720,296
200820,868
200920,792
201020,347
201120,499
201221,300
201321,730
201422,108
201524,392
201624,610
201726,199
201827,992
201928,322
202027,282
202126,067
202229,372
202331,694
202433,494
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Uttlesford council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 44.4% in 1997; 29% in 2024. 15.4 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Uttlesford council area: full reviewed history
Period%
199744.4
199842.9
199943.6
200043.8
200142.9
200240.7
200337.3
200437.3
200538
200634.5
200732.3
200832.5
200929.8
201026
201125.8
201226.1
201324.1
201422.3
201528.2
201627.8
201733
201837.1
201934.4
202030
202119.3
202227.9
202329.6
202429
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

62.2%

21 March 2021 · Uttlesford local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

11.2%

21 March 2021 · Uttlesford local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

13.8%

21 March 2021 · Uttlesford local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

3.2%

21 March 2021 · Uttlesford local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£476,000

July 2026 · Uttlesford local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,289

August 2026 · Uttlesford local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.