Skip to content
Essex Counts — Essex, in numbers.Local help →

Maldon, in numbers

People and living standards: Maldon

Maldon local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Maldon local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 52,754 in 1991 to 70,196 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Maldon council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 54,724 people in 1996; 70,196 people in 2025. 28.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Maldon council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199152,754
199252,545
199353,117
199453,589
199554,383
199654,724
199755,339
199856,524
199957,457
200058,686
200159,589
200259,750
200359,996
200460,303
200560,662
200660,993
200761,398
200861,660
200961,815
201061,845
201161,720
201261,942
201362,184
201462,807
201562,796
201663,319
201763,743
201864,015
201964,481
202065,090
202166,611
202267,595
202368,370
202469,039
202570,196
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Maldon council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 11,333 people in 1996; 11,213 people in 2025. 1.1% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Maldon council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199111,098
199211,040
199311,071
199411,266
199511,329
199611,333
199711,357
199811,493
199911,862
200012,152
200112,194
200212,048
200311,996
200411,822
200511,755
200611,590
200711,484
200811,366
200911,179
201010,986
201110,778
201210,719
201310,598
201410,568
201510,458
201610,447
201710,429
201810,491
201910,493
202010,590
202110,817
202211,083
202311,140
202411,127
202511,213
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Maldon council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 34,998 people in 1996; 40,442 people in 2025. 15.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Maldon council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199133,684
199233,491
199333,874
199434,119
199534,715
199634,998
199735,434
199836,262
199936,840
200037,640
200138,234
200238,279
200338,330
200438,516
200538,696
200638,958
200739,160
200839,184
200938,969
201038,770
201138,366
201237,898
201337,623
201437,726
201537,481
201637,637
201737,742
201837,681
201937,811
202038,190
202139,092
202239,358
202339,662
202439,925
202540,442
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Maldon council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 8,393 people in 1996; 18,541 people in 2025. 120.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Maldon council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
19917,972
19928,014
19938,172
19948,204
19958,339
19968,393
19978,548
19988,769
19998,755
20008,894
20019,161
20029,423
20039,670
20049,965
200510,211
200610,445
200710,754
200811,110
200911,667
201012,089
201112,576
201213,325
201313,963
201414,513
201514,857
201615,235
201715,572
201815,843
201916,177
202016,310
202116,702
202217,154
202317,568
202417,987
202518,541
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 66,211 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Maldon · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh7411.1%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African2360.4%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups8971.4%
White64,12996.9%
Other ethnic group2080.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 61,629 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Maldon · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White60,42998.1%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups5060.8%
Asian/Asian British4840.8%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British1500.2%
Other ethnic group600.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 59,418 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Maldon · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White58,59398.6%
Mixed3130.5%
Asian/Asian British2580.4%
Black/Black British1040.2%
Chinese/Other1500.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 6.9% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Maldon council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £12,733 per person in 1997; £27,757 per person in 2024. 118% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Maldon council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199712,733
199812,544
199913,037
200013,336
200113,721
200213,919
200314,098
200414,526
200515,032
200615,438
200715,886
200816,629
200917,186
201017,261
201117,536
201218,041
201318,762
201419,301
201520,423
201621,205
201721,963
201822,230
201922,448
202022,563
202123,874
202224,869
202326,151
202427,757
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Maldon council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 20% in 1997; 6.9% in 2024. 13.1 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Maldon council area: full reviewed history
Period%
199720
199815.9
199915.2
200012
200110.9
200210
20038.1
20047
20056.9
20065.4
20073.5
20085.6
20097.3
20106.9
20117.6
20126.8
20137.1
20146.7
20157.4
201610.1
201711.5
20188.9
20196.5
20207.5
20219.3
20228.3
20237
20246.9
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

56.4%

21 March 2021 · Maldon local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

15.7%

21 March 2021 · Maldon local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

19.3%

21 March 2021 · Maldon local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

4.8%

21 March 2021 · Maldon local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£390,000

July 2026 · Maldon local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,139

August 2026 · Maldon local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.